Heroin v Methadone

Where all the blog posts go that end up on the front page!
philbell
Political Stand:

Heroin v Methadone

Post by philbell » Fri May 30, 2008 1:15 am

It has been announced that in Scotland they are going to try to reduce the usage of Methadone in trying to get addicts off Heroin.

HOORAY!! At last somebody has seen sense!!!

Using one drug to get an addict off another was never going to work. Most Heroin addicts use methadone to get between one proper fix and the next. They do not use it as a crutch to get off heroin. Even if they did the fact is they would still be hooked on methadone!! Many actually sell their methadone prescription in order to get the real thing.

I do not doubt that a smalll number of people will use the system as intended, but it is the minority by a large margin. I have a lot of experience with addiction and people who have been affected by different kinds of drugs. I know for a fact that treating heroin with methadone is a waste of time unless it is under controlled circumstances. From what I understand the only reason it was ever offered on presciption was to try to reduce crime by giving the addicts a fix instead of raising money for drugs. The fact is this just gives addicts a fix in the short term and does not help anybody in the long term.

I have never understood why people even touch heroin or crack and the like. They are dirty drugs and eveybody knows that it doesn't take long to get hooked. From my understanding it is people that are rock bottom in their lives and have nothing to live for anyway and that is the excuse but in reality if you stand back and take a look at the reality many (not all) of these lives are not as bad as they are seen to be.